Home Timeline 1942-1973 Reporters & Writers Perpsectives on Reporting Civil Rights Resources Reporting Civil Rights: The LOA Anthology
Reporters and Writers z x w v t s r p o n m l k j i h g f e d c b a

Enlarge photo
David  Nevin
Selected Bibliography
Back to
Author Index

(May 30, 1927- ) Born in Washington, D.C. Served in U.S. Navy, Pacific theater (1944-46), and as a chief electrician in U.S. Merchant Marine (1946-46). Attended Louisiana State (1946-47, 1949-50) and Texas Technological College (1948-49). Began career in journalism working as reporter on Texas dailies Brownsville Herald (1950-52), Dallas Times Herald (1952-54), and San Antonio Light (1954-60). Beginning in 1960 worked for Life magazine for ten years, afterward writing several books in Time-Life series. Author of The Texans (1968), Muskie of Maine (1972), The Soldiers (1973), The Expressmen (1973), The Schools That Fear Built: Segregationist Academies in the South (1976, with Robert E. Bills), The American Touch in Micronesia (1977), The Mexican War (1978), The Pathfinders (1980), Architects of Air Power (1981), The Road to Shiloh (1983), Sherman's March (1986), and four volumes in "American Story" series of historical novels, Dream West (1984), 1812 (1996), Eagle's Cry (2000), and Treason (2001).

Also see David Nevin's website.